Strategy

Road Safety Strategy (RSS) 2025 is similar to its predecessors in a number of ways. It retains the long-term vision of Making Canada’s roads the safest in the world but combines this with the vision of Towards Zero.

A number of principles key to the strategy’s success have been aligned with international best practices in road safety.

These principles include:

  • Adopting the Safe System Approach
  • A 10-year timeline
  • Providing an inventory of provenThe 'proven' initiatives are best practices, nationally and/or internationally, that have measured effectiveness in reducing fatalities and serious injuries. and promisingThe 'promising' initiatives are good initiatives that have been reviewed but warrant further evaluation to demonstrate direct effectiveness in reducing fatalities and serious injuries. best practices to address key risk groups and contributing factors

RSS 2025 builds on the work of Road Safety Strategy 2015 with a flexible approach to allow for jurisdictions to implement road safety programs that meet their own needs.

It encourages road safety stakeholders from all levels of government as well as private sector and non-governmental stakeholders to collaborate and unite efforts to make Canada’s roads the safest in the world.

RSS 2025’s vision, “Towards Zero - The safest roads in the world” is based on an international best practice first adopted by Sweden in 1997 where Vision Zero was approved by its parliament and has permeated the country’s approach to road safety ever since.  It has resulted in Sweden having among the lowest traffic-related fatality rates world-wide and has led to other countries and municipal governments initiating similar approaches.

Towards Zero is not a target to be achieved by a certain date; it is aspirational. This vision will continue beyond RSS 2025’s timeline and highlights the desire for the best road safety outcomes for all Canadian jurisdictions.

Strategic Objectives

The following strategic objectives form the cornerstone of RSS 2025 and focus on safer road users, road infrastructure and vehicles:

  • Raising public awareness and commitment to road safety
  • Improving communication, cooperation and collaboration among stakeholders
  • Enhancing legislation and enforcement
  • Improving road safety information in support of research and evaluation
  • Improving the  safety of vehicles and road infrastructure
  • Leveraging technology and innovation

RSS 2025 Guiding Principles

Adopting a Safe System Approach

The Safe System Approach (SSA) is how many countries leading in road safety are achieving their vision of eliminating deaths and serious injuries. SSA contains the following principles:

  • Ethics: human life and health are paramount and take priority over mobility and other objectives of the road traffic system (i.e., life and health can never be exchanged for other benefits within the society)
  • Responsibility: providers and regulators of the road traffic system share responsibility with users
  • Safety: road traffic systems should take account of human fallibility and minimize both the opportunities for errors and the harm done when they occur
  • Mechanisms for change: providers and regulators must do their utmost to guarantee the safety of all citizens; they must cooperate with road users; and all three must be ready to change to achieve safety. It is recognized that Canadian jurisdictions will implement the SSA in a manner that is Appropriate to their environment

Figure 1.1 .Source: CCMTA version specifically developed for RSS 2025 adapted from the 2009 WHO report on the Global Status on Road Safety which was in turn modified from work commissioned by the Government of Western Australia.

Downward Trends

RSS 2025 seeks to achieve directional downward trends in the rate-based number of fatalities and serious injuries rather than in the actual numbers of fatalities and serious injuries. These trends will be measured at the national level annually using multi-year rolling averages to smooth out short-term fluctuations since year-over-year reductions may not be practical or attainable.

Two rate-based indicators commonly used internationally are:  fatalities and serious injuries per 100,000 population (World Health Organization, 2014), and fatalities and serious injuries per billion kilometers travelled (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development and International Transport Forum, 2012). In Canada, the rate-based indicators will be:

  • Fatalities and serious injuries per billion kilometres travelled, and
  • Fatalities and serious injuries per one hundred thousand population

Although the strategy does not include hard quantitative targets, it does not preclude individual jurisdictions or organizations from establishing their own targets when there is government, law enforcement and/or road safety stakeholder support for doing so.

Online Inventory of Road Safety Best Practices Core to the strategy is an inventory of best practice interventions used by leading road safety countries that have been effective in reducing fatalities and serious injuries. The online inventory can be accessed under the menu tab Road Safety Measures.


A Shared Responsibility

CCMTA is the custodian of Road Safety Strategy 2025 and will be responsible for its update.

Updates may include documenting progress made on new research projects undertaken, identifying new initiatives to be included in the multi-cell matrix of key risk groups and contributing factors, revising the framework of proven best practice initiatives, reporting on progress towards Canada’s vision of Towards Zero - the safest roads in the world.

As custodian of the RSS 2025, the CCMTA, working through the jurisdictions and its committees, task forces, and working groups, will be responsible for maintaining, updating and reporting on the strategy. Given the strategy’s approach, these up-dates may include progress on new research projects, identifying new initiatives, key risk groups or contributing factors.

It is recommended that each jurisdiction develop its own action plans, and in creating these plans, use the road safety measures that have been proven effective in Canada and elsewhere.

Stratégie

La Stratégie de sécurité routière 2025 s’apparente aux stratégies précédentes en plusieurs points. Elle est empreinte de la même vision à long terme, soit que les routes au Canada deviennent les plus sûres du monde, mais vient y greffer la notion de vision zéro.

De plus, certains des principes décisifs pour le succès de la stratégie ont été alignés sur les pratiques exemplaires mondiales en matière de sécurité routière.

Parmi ceux-ci :

  • Adoption de l’approche systémique de la sécurité routière
  • Étalement de la stratégie sur dix ans
  • La constitution d’une base de données de pratiques exemplaires éprouvées ou prometteuses couvrant l’ensemble des groupes cibles et des facteurs connexes.

La SSR 2025, qui s’inscrit dans le prolongement de la Stratégie de sécurité routière 2015, propose une approche flexible qui permet aux administrations de mettre en œuvre des programmes de sécurité routière adaptés à leurs besoins.

La SSR 2025 encourage la collaboration entre les intervenants de la sécurité routière de tous les paliers de gouvernement et des secteurs non gouvernemental et privé pour atteindre un objectif commun : doter le Canada des routes les plus sûres du monde et atteindre zéro décès et blessure grave.

La vision à la base de la SSR 2025 est bien résumée par le titre Vision zéro - les routes les plus sûres du monde. Cette vision s’inspire d’une pratique exemplaire internationale nommée Vision zéro, adoptée pour la première fois en 1997 par la Suède et guidant son approche du transport depuis. Cette stratégie hautement efficace et novatrice a permis à ce pays d’atteindre l’un des plus faibles taux de mortalité sur la route au monde. Impressionnés par ce succès, plusieurs autres gouvernements et municipalités lui ont emboité le pas.

La vision « Objectif zéro décès » n’est pas un objectif chiffré doté d’une échéance, mais plutôt une aspiration. Reflet de la volonté d’offrir des routes sûres aux citoyens du pays, elle va au-delà de la simple durée de la SSR 2025.

Objectifs stratégiques

Les objectifs stratégiques suivants, qui portent sur la sécurité des comportements au volant et des véhicules et la sureté des routes, constituent la pierre angulaire de la SSR 2025 :

  • sensibiliser et mobiliser la population à l’égard des questions relatives à la sécurité routière;
  • améliorer la communication, la coopération et la collaboration entre les intervenants;
  • renforcer la réglementation et l’application de la loi;
  • améliorer la qualité de l’information sur la sécurité routière et soutenir la recherche et l’évaluation;
  • rendre les véhicules plus sécuritaires et l’infrastructure routière plus sûre;
  • tirer parti des technologies existantes et de l’innovation.

Principes La conception de la stratégie repose sur les principes suivants :

Adoption d’une approche systémique de la sécurité routière

L’approche systémique de la sécurité routière (ASSR) est un moyen qu’ont pris avec succès plusieurs pays pour réaliser leur vision de routes plus sûres. L’ASSR s’articule autour des principes suivants :

  • l’éthique : la vie humaine et la santé priment sur la mobilité et les autres objectifs du système routier (il ne faut jamais compromettre la vie et la santé, peu importe l’avantage que la société en retire);
  • la responsabilité : les fournisseurs du système routier et les entités responsables de sa réglementation partagent la responsabilité avec ses utilisateurs;
  • la sécurité : les systèmes routiers doivent tenir compte de la faillibilité humaine et réduire au maximum le risque et, s’il y a lieu, la sévérité de toute erreur;
  • les mécanismes de changement : les fournisseurs et les responsables de la réglementation doivent faire tout ce qui est en leur pouvoir pour garantir la sécurité de tous. Ils doivent coopérer avec les usagers de la route et, ensemble, accepter le changement nécessaire. Il est établi que les administrations du Canada mettront en œuvre l’ASSR dans une mesure correspondant au contexte qui leur est propre. 

Figure 1.1. Source : adaptation par le CCATM, pour les fins de la SSR 2025, d’un diagramme tiré du Rapport de situation sur la sécurité routière dans le monde de l’OMS en 2009, lui-même conçu à partir d’une étude commandée par le gouvernement de l’Australie-Occidentale.

Tendance à la baisse : vision zéro

La SSR 2025 vise à concrétiser la tendance à la baisse du nombre proportionnel de décès et de blessures graves plutôt que du nombre brut. Cette tendance sera mesurée annuellement à l’échelle du pays, en utilisant des moyennes mobiles sur plusieurs années pour contrôler les variations à court terme, puisqu’une réduction constante année après année pourrait être difficile, voire impossible, à atteindre.

Deux des indicateurs proportionnels les plus utilisés dans le monde sont le nombre de décès et de blessures graves par 100 000 habitants (OMS 2014), ainsi que le nombre de décès et de blessures graves par milliard de véhicules-kilomètres parcourus (OCDE et Forum international sur le transport, 2012). Au Canada, les deux indicateurs proportionnels suivants seront utilisés :

  • le nombre de décès et de blessures graves par milliard de véhicules-kilomètres parcourues;
  • le nombre de décès et de blessures graves par 100 000 habitants.

Bien que la stratégie ne définisse aucune cible quantitative précise, elle n’empêche aucune organisation d’en fixer avec le soutien des gouvernements, des législateurs, des forces de l’ordre ou de toute autre partie intéressée.

Base de données des pratiques exemplaires en sécurité routière : Au cœur de la Stratégie, la base de données des pratiques exemplaires en sécurité routière répertorie des mesures prises par les pays chefs de file au chapitre de la sécurité et qui se sont révélées efficaces pour réduire les décès et les blessures graves. Pour l’interroger, cliquez sur l’onglet Mesures de sécurité


Une responsabilité commune 

Le CCATM est responsable de la Stratégie de sécurité routière 2025 et de sa mise à jour.

Par mise à jour, on entend la consignation du progrès réalisé dans les nouveaux projets de recherche, l’ajout d’initiatives à la matrice comprenant les groupes cibles et les facteurs connexes, la mise à jour du cadre en fonction de nouvelles pratiques exemplaires éprouvées et la rédaction d’un rapport sur l’atteinte de l’objectif Vision zéro -  les routes les plus sûres du monde.

En tant qu’organisme responsable de la SSR 2025, le CCATM, par le travail des gouvernments membres, de leurs comités et de leurs groupes de travail, s’occupe du maintien, de la mise à jour et des rapports de la stratégie. Étant donné l’approche préconisée par la stratégie, les mises à jour pourraient contenir de la documentation concernant les progrès accomplis dans un nouveau projet de recherche, de nouvelles initiatives ou de nouveaux groupes cibles et des facteurs connexes.

Nous recommandons la conception par chaque gouvernement d’un plan d’action qui lui est propre et qui tire parti des mesures de sécurité routière prouvées efficaces ailleurs au pays et dans le monde.